

634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

## Town of Medina Budget Public Hearing Minutes Wednesday November 13, 2019 6 PM -- Town of Medina Hall/ Garage

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Chairman Weinberger

The Public Hearing was published in the Courier October 31, 2019 and November 7, 2019 and posted October 31, 2019 at The Dock, The Barrel Inn, Marshall Post Office, The Town Hall/Garage and placed on the Town web site www.townofmedina.org.

The Pledge of Allegiance was cited by those in attendance.

Present were Chairman Weinberger, Clerk Tammy Jordan, Leaota Braithwaite, Phillip Braithwaite, Sue Zingshiem, John Ward, John Hellenbrand, Sam Anderson, Jim Hellenbrand, Ron Jacobson, Jeffrey Kneusel, Katie Braithwaite and Amber Gerber (The Courier).

Printed documents were available for those in attendance. Chairman Weinberger presented the proposed 2020 budget, supporting documents and Resolution 2019-09, which authorizes a 1.5% levy increase. Which would increase the town levy by \$8,504, on an ongoing basis. Chairman Weinberger asked the electors for any comments or concerns regarding the proposed 2019 budget. Ron Jacobson asked if Refinancing the PSB Loan had been looked into. Weinberger stated that they had and it wouldn't be financially beneficial to do so, as this would lengthen the term of the PSB Loan. Jacobson also asked what the Board would do if the 1.5% Levy Increase wasn't approved by the Elector's. Weinberger stated the Board would look at cuts in some of the categories and that it should be easy to find the money. John Ward suggested the Board could Underfund the Capital Accounts.

Chairman Weinberger asked if there were any further questions regarding the proposed budget. There were no further questions. Motion to Adjourn the Public Hearing by Phillip Braithwaite, Seconded by Jim Hellenbrand. Motion carried unanimously. Adjourned 6:18 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Town Clerk Tammy Jordan



## 634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

## SPECIAL TOWN MEETING OF ELECTORS AGENDA NOVEMBER 13, 2019 Approximately 6:30 PM

The meeting was called to order at 6:18 PM by Chairman Weinberger

The Meeting of the Electors was published in the October 31, 2019 and November 7, 2019 and posted October 31, 2019 at The Dock, The Barrel Inn, Marshall Post Office, The Town Hall/Garage and placed on the Town web site www.townofmedina.org.

Present were Chairman Weinberger, Clerk Tammy Jordan, Leaota Braithwaite, Phillip Braithwaite, Sue Zingshiem, John Ward, John Hellenbrand, Sam Anderson, Jim Hellenbrand, Ron Jacobson, Jeffrey Kneusel, Katie Braithwaite, Charlie Virgil, Marcia Virgil, Bud Bessler (Oliver Construction) and Amber Gerber (The Courier).

Chairman Weinberger stated that votes for the issues on the agenda would be made by hand count.

Chairman Weinberger read the Action to consider: To consider the adoption of resolution 2019-10 by the town meeting endorsing a town board resolution which proposes that the town levy exceed the state allowable levy limit under s. 66.0602 of Wis. Statutes, specifically a proposed tax levy which would exceed the allowable town tax levy for 2019 payable 2020 by 1.5 percent which would be a dollar increase of \$8,504; and to increase the town tax levy by 1.5 percent every year thereafter.

Motion by Katie Braithwaite to Approve 2019-10 Tax Levy Resolution, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Sam Anderson; Motion carried 12-0, Hand Count 12 Aye, 0 Nay, 2 Abstentions (not qualified to vote)

To approve the total highway expenditures for 2020 pursuant to s. 82.03(2)(a) of Wis. Statutes. Motion by Ron Jacobson, 2<sup>nd</sup> by John Hellenbrand, Motion carried 13-0, Hand Count 13 Aye, 0 Nay, 2 Abstentions (not qualified to vote).

To approve the 2019 total town tax levy to be collected in 2020 pursuant to s. 60.10(1)(a) of Wis. Statutes. Motion by Katie Braithwaite, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Ron Jacobson, Motion carried13-0, Hand Count 13 Aye, 0 Nay, 2 Abstentions (not qualified to vote).

Motion by Ron Jacobson to adjourn, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Lea Braithwaite. Motion carried unanimously. Adjourned 6:32 PM

Respectfully submitted by Town Clerk Tammy Jordan