

634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

November 29, 2017 -- Town of Medina Garage Town of Medina Budget Public Hearing

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Chairman Weinberger

The Public Hearing was published in the Courier November 9, 2017 and November 16, 2017. The Public Hearing was posted November 9, 2017 at The Dock, The Barrel Inn, The Town Garage, F & M Bank Marshall, The Marshall Post Office and placed on the Town web site www.townofmedina.org.

The Pledge of Allegiance was cited by those in attendance.

Present were Chairman Weinberger, Clerk Ron Jacobson, Paulette Kerr, Sam Anderson, Jim Hellenbrand, Donna Hellenbrand, Leaota Braithwaite, Phillip Braithwaite, Tori Braithwaite, Katie Braithwaite, Carrie Weinberger, Kayla Weinberger, Sue Zingshiem, John Ward, Jackie Ward, John Hellenbrand, L. Foti, Steve Schulz, James Hannon, Chris O'Brien (Courier), Caridad Reed, Scott Reed, Mike Schlimgen, Marcia Virgil, Charlie Virgil, Jack Erb, Mike Wildman, Timm Kersten, Steve Nampel (Non-Elector) and Kim Kohler.

Printed documents were available for those in attendance and the documents were also presented on the TV for viewing by those in attendance. Chairman Weinberger presented the proposed 2018 budget, supporting documents and Resolution 2017-11 which authorizes a \$150.000.00 levy increase. Details of what has driven the need for a levy increase were presented including employee costs and the ability to retain employees, increase in Fire/EMS staffing costs and the need for funds to maintain roads. Clerk Jacobson detailed information on the Capital Expenditure program; every resident has the EMS, Fire and Town equipment in place for their benefit and they should contribute to the cost annually. Sam Anderson commented regarding the need for having two employees for road work and the cost to supply health insurance for employees. Timm Kersten asked if the \$10.000.00 proposed budget expense identified by Chairman Weinberger to address issues in Deansville was to be an ongoing expenditure. Chairman Weinberger indicated it was not expected to be but that there potentially could be a need for \$10,000.00 in 2019 and potentially \$7,000.00 in 2020. The desire would be to resolve the issue without this kind of expense. Mike Schlimgen asked how much of the \$150,000.00 increase stayed in the Town. Chairman Weinberger indicated 100% of the funds are for town operations. Sam Anderson commented that this was the most thorough and detailed presentation of the budget he has seen by the Town. Chairman Weinberger explained the process for the levy increase and asked if there were any further questions regarding he proposed budget. There were no further questions. Motion to Adjourn the Public Hearing by Phillip Braithwaite, Seconded by Charlie Virgil. Motion carried unanimously. Adjourned 7:09 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Town Clerk Ron Jacobson



634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

November 29, 2017 -- Town of Medina Garage Town of Medina Meeting of the Electors

The meeting was called to order at 7:10 PM by Chairman Weinberger

The Meeting of the Electors was published in the Courier November 9, 2017 and November 16, 2017. The Meeting of the Electors was posted November 9, 2017 at The Dock, The Barrel Inn, The Town Garage, F & M Bank Marshall, The Marshall Post Office and placed on the Town web site www.townofmedina.org.

Present were Chairman Weinberger, Clerk Ron Jacobson , Paulette Kerr, Sam Anderson, Jim Hellenbrand, Donna Hellenbrand, Leaota Braithwaite, Phillip Braithwaite, Tori Braithwaite, Katie Braithwaite, Carrie Weinberger, Kayla Weinberger, Sue Zingshiem, John Ward, Jackie Ward, John Hellenbrand, L. Foti, Steve Schulz, James Hannon, Chris O'Brien (Courier), Caridad Reed, Scott Reed, Mike Schlimgen, Marcia Virgil, Charlie Virgil, Jack Erb, Mike Wildman, Timm Kersten, Steve Nampel (Non-Elector) and Kim Kohler.

Chairman Weinberger asked the electors whether they preferred voting on the issues on the agenda by ballot or by hand count. Scott Reed made the motion to have the vote be done by hand count, seconded by Mike Wildman. Motion carried unanimously.

Action to consider the adoption of a resolution by the town meeting endorsing a town board resolution which proposes that the town levy exceed the state allowable levy limit under s. 66.0602 of Wis. Statutes, specifically a proposed tax levy which would exceed the allowable town tax levy for 2017 payable 2018 by 37.053414 percent which would be a dollar increase of \$150,000.00: Motion by Scott Reed to adoption Resolution 2017-11 Resolution for Electors to Exceed the Levy Limits at Special Town Meeting of the Electors, seconded by Paulette Kerr. Hand Count 27 Aye – 0 Nay – 1 Abstention Motion carried.

To establish the compensation for elected town officers pursuant to s. 60.10(1)(b)1, Wis. Stat.: Two Supervisor Offices are up for Election April 2018, current Supervisor Salary if \$3,000.00 per annum and per diem of \$35.00. Motion by Mike Wildman that the two salaries for the two supervisor's positions remain at \$3,000.00 per annum and per diem of \$35.00, seconded by Jack Erb. Hand Count 25 Ave - 0 Nay - 2 Abstentions Motion Carried.

To approve the total highway expenditures for 2018 pursuant to s. 82.03(2)(a) of Wis. Statutes: Motion by Leaota Braithwaite to approve the public works expenditures at \$430,115.57, second by Marsha Virgil. Hand Count 27 Aye – 0 Nay – No Abstentions Motion Carried

To approve the 2017 total town tax levy to be collected in 2018 pursuant to s. 60.10(1)(a) of Wis. Statutes: Motion by Mike Schlimgen to set the levy at \$554,821.00 and mil rate at 3.97775, seconded by Sam Anderson. Hand Count 27 Aye – 0 Nay – No Abstentions Motion Carried



634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

Chairman Weinberger asked the electors present if there are any other issues they wished to have addressed at the meeting. No issues were presented by the electors for discussion or consideration.

Motion by Scott Reed to adjourn, seconded by Jim Hannon. Motion carried unanimously. Adjourned 7:22 PM

Respectfully submitted by Town Clerk Ron Jacobson