

634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

Town of Medina July 5, 2017 -- Town of Medina Garage Meeting of the Facility Needs Committee

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Committee Chairman Ron Jacobson

Present were Committee Chairman Ron Jacobson, Committee members Sam Anderson, Phillip Braithwaite and Scott Reed. Also present was Patrolman Jim Hellenbrand.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Meeting was posted Friday June 30, 2017 Town Garage, townofmedina.org

Chairman Jacobson was delegated to handle the committee minutes.

Discussion on committee objectives and timeline: Chairman Jacobson discussed the need for the committee to look for both short term and long-term solutions to meeting the Town's facility needs. The timeline for making a recommendation is September 20, 2017.

Review of preliminary facility documents: The committee reviewed the Action Plan items, sketches that layout the existing buildings, aerial maps of some potential sites and photos of some of the existing buildings. The committee would like to see on the map of the existing facility the setbacks, Chairman Jacobson will put this together. There was discussion on the different needs the town may have in the future, including considering the long-term plans relating to how the town may look in 50 years.

Walk through of the town facilities at 634 Hwy 19: The committee completed a walkthrough of the meeting room and associated rooms; the existing records including the town minutes going back to 1848 are not secured to be protected, many records are in storage in the "loft". There is currently inadequate space to have an office for the clerk. It was noted that the bathrooms were not ADA compliant. The shop/bay area was reviewed, Jim Hellenbrand recommended that the depth of the building be longer to allow for parking of two pieces of equipment in one bay and to have wall storage in the back. Having the building height increased with higher overhead doors would also be good, there has been damage to the overhead entries in the past because of the height of the newer equipment. Jim Hellenbrand indicated that because of the existing space he needs to move equipment out to get at equipment that is going to used. The building used as the salt shed/recycling center was viewed. There are structural cracks in the northwest wall, the room used for the recycling collection limits its use and the building is not designed for use as a salt shed. Jim Hellenbrand indicated that it is difficult getting the loader in and out because of the height.

Discussion on issues to address and development of questions to ask: The committee how to proceed. Phillip Braithwaite recommended that the committee develop pros and cons on the varying issues that need to be reviewed. The committee will start by with the following:

1.) Reviewing the issues with utilizing the existing facilities.



634 State Road 19 PO Box 37, Marshall, WI 53559 www.townofmedina.org

- 2.) The potential to lease office space.
- 3.) To get clarification from Dane County on the potential of Riley Deppe Park being transferred to the town.
- 4.) Discuss with the Village of Marshall the potential of pursuing joint facilities.
- 5.) The potential for utilizing the old Town Dump location was discussed and the consensus was that it would not be feasible because of the DNR restrictions put on at closure of the site.
- 6.) Make an inquiry with WE Energies on the potential use of their property off Cherry Lane.

Phillip Braithwaite also recommended that the committee visit other municipal facilities to see how they are designed, get information on what their costs were and how they funded the cost. Chairman Jacobson will attempt to arrange viewings for Friday July 21, 2017. Potential locations are Bristol, Burke and Vienna but others may be viewed.

Set next committee meeting date: The next meeting date was set for 6:00 PM Wednesday July 19, 2017.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion to adjourn by Sam Anderson, 2nd by Phillip Braithwaite motion carried 4-0. Adjourn 8:20 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Committee Chairman Ron Jacobson

Approved August 9, 2017